Go to top

Daï Fujikura

Composer of Solaris

Debut at Opéra de Lausanne.

Daï Fujikura arrived in Europe at the age of fifteen and studied in London, first under Daryl Runswick at Trinity College, then under Edwin Roxburgh at Royal College and finally with George Benjamin at King’s College.

In 2005 he directed the world premiere of Vast Ocean at the Donaueschingen Festival with the Hilversun Radio Orchestra and the experimental studio Heinrich-Strobel-Stiftung. The same year, Pierre Boulez directed his creation Stream State in Luzern which led to the Ensemble intercontemporain commissioning Code 80, created at the Cité de la Musique in Paris, for Boulez’ 80th birthday. Many commissions ensued and Daï Fujikura created Crushing Twister for the BBC orchestra, Vanishing Point for the Modern Ensemble, Wave Embraced for the Klangforum Wien and the BIT20 ensemble, Swarming essence for the Radio France Orchestra and the Ircam (Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique), Time unlocked and …as I am … for the Ensemble intercontemporain, Secret Forest for the Strasbourg Musica Festival and Ampere, a piano concerto for the Philharmonia Orchestra.

Daï Fujikura has also written many pieces of chamber music including Breathing Tides for oboe and shô; a piece for traditional Japanese instruments composed for the Okeanos ensemble; Flare, a string quartet, as well as several vocal pieces with lyrics by Harry Ross, such as Lake Side and Away we play.

Furthermore, he has partnered with videographer Tomoya Yamaguchi on chamber music such as Moromoro for piano and Fluid Calligraphy for violin.

Daï Fujikara has been the recipient of many awards including the Serocki International Composers’ Competition in 1998, the Huddersfield Festival Young Composers’ Award in 1998, the Royal Philharmonic Society Award for Composition in 2004, the Claudio Abbado Award in Vienna in 2005, the Paul Hindemith Award at the Schleswig-Holstein Festival in 2007 and the Special Giga-Hertz Award in 2008.

In 2009 Secret Forest won the Otaka Award and ...as I am... received the Akutagawa Award.