×
About
casting
Medias
Bonus
next show
Candide – canceled
Opera
Ticket office
Opera

Candide – canceled

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Mar
20
22
25
27
29
Operetta-Comic in 2 Acts
Libretto by Hugh Wheeler, adapted from Voltaire
Duration: 2h45
Incl. 1 intermission
CHF: 30.00 - 175.00
14
Select your seats

This "American-style operetta" questions the optimism of the Brave New World and its supposed superiority.

Based on the eponymous work by Voltaire, Candide according to Bernstein transposes the caustic Voltairean sense of humour into contemporary American society. A comedy that mocks the world’s absurdity, this ‘American operetta’ questions the optimism of Brave New World and its supposed superiority. Bernstein creates a lyric work unique in its genre. Candide is subjected to a significant number of edits by a variety of people before arriving at its final form which encompasses all its originality. Just like the fate of the work itself, the young Candide’s initiation journey is marked by several adventures and sudden changes. While he learns at his own expense that ‘everything is not for the best in the best of all possible worlds’, the music on the other hand returns to optimism in sparkling passages full of joy and parody. Nothing is left out: a brilliant overture, the pieces of bravery for the coloratura, the dances, from the tango to the gavotte; everything is there. Irony and good nature mark the path of happiness, which consists very simply of ‘cultivating our garden’.

Gavriel Heine
Conductor
Vincent Boussard
Direction
Christian Lacroix
Costumes
Miles Mykkanen
Candide

Music by Leonard Bernstein, book by Hugh Wheeler after Voltaire, Lyrics by Richard Wilbur, with additional lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, John La Touche, Lillian Hellman, Dorothy Parker and Leonard Bernstein

Orchestrations by Leonard Bernstein and Hershy Kay; Musical continuity and additional orchestrations by John Mauceri, with a narration for concert version by Leonard Bernstein and John Wells, adapted from the satire by Voltaire and the book by Hugh Wheeler; edited and supplemented by Erik Haagensen.

 Work given by permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Limited.

Candide
Miles Mykkanen
Cunégonde
Marie Lys
Old Lady
Anna Steiger
Pangloss (Voltaire), Martin, Cacambo
Franco Pomponi
Maximilian, Inquisitor 2, Judge 2, Captain, Herman Augustus, 2nd Señor
Joël Terrin
Paquette
Béatrice Nani
Governor, 1st Señor, Vanderdendur, Crook, Achmet
Nicolas Wildi
Inquisitor 1, Judge 1, Ragotsky, Charles Edwards
Bastien Combe
Inquisitor 3, Judge 3, Tsar Ivan
Raphaël Hardmeyer
Stanislaus
Fernando Cuellar Leon
Narrator
Mike Winter
Conductor
Gavriel Heine
Direction
Vincent Boussard
Set Design
Vincent Lemaire
Costumes
Christian Lacroix
Lighting
Nicolas Gilli
Video
Isabel Robson
Choreography
Helge Letonja
Director's Assistant
Gediminas Šeduikis
Costume's Assistant
Robert Schwaighofer

Animation

Coming soon

Opera
Candide – canceled
Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Mar
20
to
29
See calendar
You watched

Animation

Teaser

Discover also

CANDIDE
FACULTÉ DES LETTRES, UNIL
Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Mar
09
Davel - canceled
World Premier
Christian Favre (1955), libretto by René Zahnd (1958)
May
03
to
10

COVID 19: The Opéra de Lausanne is doing its utmost to manage this exceptional situation and thanks you all for your understanding in the face of the inevitable inconveniences. Please note the following changes concerning our ticket office: ticket offices will be closed from the 16th of March 2020, but you can still reach us by phone Monday to Friday from 10 am to 12 pm at 021 315 40 20, and always by e-mail  at reservations.opera@lausanne.ch. Our website will keep you informed in real time of any changes to these measures.

×
à propos
distribution
médias
bonus
prochain spectacle
Candide – Annulation
Opéra
Billetterie
Opéra

Candide – Annulation

Voir communication ci-dessous
Mars
20
22
25
27
29
Comic operetta en 2 actes
Livret de Hugh Wheeler d’après Voltaire
Durée : 2h45
1 entracte compris
CHF : 30.00 - 175.00
14
Choisissez vos places

Cette « opérette à l’américaine » interroge l’optimisme de notre monde et sa prétendue supériorité.

Basé sur l’œuvre éponyme de Voltaire, Candide selon Bernstein transpose l’humour caustique voltairien dans la société de l’Amérique contemporaine. Comédie qui se rit de l’absurdité du monde, cette « opérette à l’américaine » interroge l’optimisme du notre monde et sa prétendue supériorité. Bernstein crée une œuvre lyrique unique dans son genre. Candide subit un nombre important de révisions par diverses mains avant d’arriver à sa forme finale qui englobe toute son originalité. Tout comme le destin de l’œuvre elle-même, le parcours initiatique du jeune Candide est marqué par de nombreuses aventures et revirements. Alors qu’il apprend à ses dépens que « tout ne va pas pour le mieux dans le meilleur des mondes », la musique, elle, revient à l’optimisme dans des numéros pleins d’éclat et de joyeuse parodie. Rien n’y est oublié : ni une ouverture scintillante, ni des morceaux de bravoure pour la colorature, ni les danses, du tango à la gavotte. Ironie et bonhomie tracent le chemin du bonheur, qui consiste tout simplement à… « cultiver son jardin ».

Gavriel Heine
Direction
Vincent Boussard
Mise en scène
Christian Lacroix
Costumes
Miles Mykkanen
Candide

Livret de Hugh Wheeler d’après Voltaire Lyrics de Richard Wilbur,
Stephen Sondheim, John Latouche, Dorothy Parker, Lillian Hellman et Leonard Bernstein

Première représentation au Martin Beck Theatre, New York, le 1er décembre 1956

Editions Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Limited.

Orchestration de Leonard Bernstein et Hershy Kay; continuité musicale et orchestration additionnelle de John Mauceri, narration pour version concert de Leonard Bernstein et John Wells, adaptée de la satire de Voltaire et du livret de Hugh Wheeler; éditée et complétée par Erik Haagensen.

Candide
Miles Mykkanen
Cunégonde
Marie Lys
Old Lady
Anna Steiger
Pangloss (Voltaire), Martin
Franco Pomponi
Maximilian, Inquisitor 2, Judge 2, Captain, Herman Augustus, 2nd Señor
Joël Terrin
Paquette
Béatrice Nani
Governor, 1st Señor, Vanderdendur, Crook, Achmet
Nicolas Wildi
Inquisitor 1, Judge 1, Ragotsky, Charles Edwards
Bastien Combe
Inquisitor 3, Judge 3, Tsar Ivan
Raphaël Hardmeyer
Stanislaus
Fernando Cuellar Leon
Narrator
Mike Winter
Direction
Gavriel Heine
Mise en scène
Vincent Boussard
Décors
Vincent Lemaire
Costumes
Christian Lacroix
Lumières
Nicolas Gilli
Vidéo
Isabel Robson
Chorégraphie
Helge Letonja
Assistant à la mise en scène
Gediminas Šeduikis
Assistant costumes
Robert Schwaighofer

Candide - Teaser

Prochainement

Opéra
Candide – Annulation
Voir communication ci-dessous
Mars
20
au
29
Voir le calendrier
Vous avez regardé

Candide - Teaser

Teaser

Découvrez aussi

CANDIDE
Forum Opéra
Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Mars
04

COVID 19 : l’Opéra de Lausanne met tout en œuvre pour gérer au mieux cette situation exceptionnelle et vous remercie de votre compréhension face aux inévitables désagréments. Veuillez noter les changements suivants concernant notre billetterie : nos guichets sont fermés dès le 16 mars 2020, mais la billetterie reste atteignable par téléphone du lundi au vendredi uniquement de 10h à 12h, au 021 315 40 20, ou en permanence par e-mail reservations.opera@lausanne.ch. Notre site internet vous renseignera en temps réel sur toute évolution de ces mesures.